Camping with the dogs

Why not start with something uncomplicated and relaxing…. camping. For the past 2 years, I’ve felt brave enough on 2 seperate occasions, and have joined friends in some weekend camping. This year, the group is quite small, but we still had fun, and even had visit on the second day.

Here it is, our home away from home.  Nothing too fancy, but perfect for us.  Many Thanks to KE who was nice enough to let us use her tent.

I’ve yet taken the big leap in buying one, so the loan is much appreciated.

The campsite is a local one, but what I liked best was the fact that I could “walk” in the water, not worrying about losing my footing.  I don’t know how to swim very well, and my idea of a great swimming spot is to have a foothold on the bottom at all times.

The greatest challenge for all first-time campers, as well as dog owners, is to keep your dogs quiet at night.  To my great suprise, Fannie the puppy is a good dog when it comes to that.  Jasmine is the naughty one, but with a lot of work, she has learned to keep quiet.  Actually, she was the first one to go in the tent at night, and go to sleep.  I took this picture of her just before turning off the light.  Needless to say she was not impressed having her picture taken so late at night…. : )

 Fannie?  After a complete inspection of the tent, she fell asleep by my side. 

This weekend was also a great opportunity for Fannie to get to know my friends’ dogs.  Here she is, trying to snuggle up to LR’s Walter, a german sheperd cross.  Usually, he would shy away, as he doesn’t know her as much as Jasmine.  That evening however, he was so tired, he didn’t care…

 

 

 

 

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Vacation and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

