Training – Fannie

Set point exercise: I’m watching Susan Salo’s video on jumping with puppies.  Instead of using jump bumps, I chose pool noodles.  They’re much easier to find, and probably cheaper.  As I was setting up the jumps and noodles in the park, I was getting a lot of attention.  They’d better start getting used to it, because I’m just starting….. : )

Fannie has no start line stays yet, so I did a few focus forward exercises with a toy and after much rewards, it worked.  I train alone and there is no one to hold her, so it was very difficult for her to stay still while I put her favorite toy a few metres away.  I know we still have much work to do, but it’s a start.  As Susan Salo mentioned in her video, Fannie is one of those dogs whose attention is mostly on my hands, and not the target.  Why?  Because my hands hand out the food, that’s why…  Wow!  There are disadvantages on having a food driven dog…   She does the exercise well and

Crate games:  She’s a bit hesitant, and doesn’t drive to the crate.  More work is required.  We’ll stay at this level for another training session.  Level: Backing up the dog so she can “drive” to the crate.  Do this in different directions.

Note:  Fannie isn’t feeling well and is suffering from diarrhea.  Considering that she’s not at her best, she did very well.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Fannie, set point, startline stay. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Training – Fannie

  1. Andrea says:

    Love the title of the new blog 🙂 Lookng forward to your training adventures 🙂

Leave a Reply

