Here come the beach bums

I’m very much the homebody, but on a last-minute decision, I convinced a friend of mine to allow me to join her on one of her trips to Sandbanks.  I left on Wednesday morning at around 10:30 am (a record for me) and arrived at the park at around 1:30 pm.  LR had already arrived on Monday.  Since I didn’t want to make her wait any more than she had already, I didn’t stop and scenery along the way.  Although I did have fun with my new idiot proof camera. 

Here we are, on the road, somewhere just before Kingston.  Ever since I’ve learned what the Canadian Shield was waaaay back in…. grade 7?….. I always had fun looking at these rocks. 

It’s very different from the good old sedimentary rock we have in my area

My first and only stop was at the Starbucks in Kingston.  It’s almost a tradition now to purchase some fancy coffee during my vacation…  Done!  One chilled coffee to go.  Yum!  Here is Jasmine in her normal spot when the car is stopped.

On a more nostalgic note, Starbucks is located across the road where Morningstar used to hold agility trials.  The soccer dome is now gone, and the quarry is operational again.  Sigh.  Jasmine earned her second Jumpers Q there.

We arrived at Sandbanks and with help from LR to set up the tent, we left to meet Agility Addict in a beautiful spot in the Prince Edward Counties area.  Fannie was seeing waves for the very first.  Jasmine surprised me by not being phased by the water at all. 

In the evening, we stopped at the designated “pet beach” where this “sunset” picture was taken. Behind Jasmine, you can see Outlet River flowing into Lake Ontario.  The river may not look like much, but the current is just strong enough to surprise Jasmine.  Her floating toy kept drifting away from her.  Quite unnerving!

The next day, I woke up at (gasp!) 5 am to join LR in her daily walk to the dune beach.  The water was calm and both dogs had a blast running in the sand.

Finally, we ended up at the “baby beach” early afternoon.  You can see Jasmine and Fannie just “hanging out” at the beach.  Something totally new for me is people asking what breed Fannie is.  One person in particular was quite intrigued since they were looking for a second dog.  Miniature poodles are not as small as toys, so not only do you get the poodle character, but the size is kinda nice. 

Will this trip be repeated again this year?  Good question.  I feel as if I may be able to do it, but there are still aspects of camping that scare me….  Which one?  Making a fire!  Maybe the piano keys will be staying at a B & B next year if we go on our own.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Sandbanks, Trip, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Here come the beach bums

  1. Andrea says:

    it was SUCH a pleasure meeting you and the piano keys …. you are welcome back here anytime 🙂
    I always ask what breed a dog is rather than presuming (well I guess i wouldn’t ask a Sampson) as people regularly tell me what Sally and Brody are (and aren’t!) and that can drive me batty sometimes …
    your camera took some great shots 🙂 well done

  2. Helen says:

    Lyne, we’ll teach you to make a fire, it’s not hard, unless the wood is green or wet.

  3. Pingback: ZZzzzzzzzzz | The furry piano keys

Leave a Reply

