What the heck…

We attended the Guides canins trial this weekend hoping to improve our performance in the Standard starters event.  We had registered in 3 events, one after the other.  This was done at the very last-minute as I’m already registered for the ADSC trial next week but I decided, what the heck…  What do I have to lose?  Right?

Jasmine did a great first Standard run.  Unfortunately, my rewarding of the dogwalk has created a little monster.  Instead of acing a simple manoeuvre from dogwalk to tunnel, she goes back on the dogwalk.  My fault, I know, but still very frustrating.  It’s already on my list of things to train for the week.  Reward, reward, reward eh?  ; )

Surprisingly, Jasmine gave me the “dew claw” during the last run.  Yes indeed!  She started well enough I suppose, but abruptly stopped, and wandered off, with her nose in the air sniffing away.  Needless to say I picked her up as quickly as I could and took her off the course.  Tsk, tsk, tsk.  Must practice more shadow handling and showing her “who’s boss”.  Sheesh….

I didn’t note our scores, but during our best run, the first, we had a five point penalty (going back on the dogwalk thingnie), but I’m not sure what was our time.  It couldn’t be that good as Jasmine still has her A-Frame sightseeing issue.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in A-Frame, Dogwalk. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What the heck…

  1. Lisa says:

    I saw her teeter during one of her runs — loved it! So cute 🙂

  2. Helen says:

    I saw the first run, she didn’t stay too long on the A-frame, you might have been all right for time.

  3. We were all right for time, but we had a 5 point fault deduction. We’re slowly getting there!

Leave a Reply

