A fun match of firsts

After two trials in less than 4 weeks, it was time for Jasmine to have a fun match.  No pressure, no max time, no refusals, just fun.   Today’s match was being held at a great facility, with great people, and great atmosphere.  Although we’re late in the year, we had really warm weather, and blue skies.  What more did we need to have a perfect day? 

We had success!

The trials at ADSC/OVBCC and Guides Canins were proof that Jasmine needed more work on contact equipment.  We’ve been proofing these for the past two weeks, and Jasmine had fun every time.  Let’s test them now.

Standard Run 1 (Wipe Out Moment… Beware!)

I didn’t try any fancy moves and chose the starters standard course.  My goal for our first run was to complete the course in 3-4 sequences, rewarding the contacts 75% of the time.  What I didn’t expect was Jasmine breaking her startline stay.  (Duh!  What a surprise!) It’s not as if she hasn’t done this before in a trial.  I can’t believe I forgot about this.  Sigh.  The fun match “Judge” told me Jasmine had broken the second startline as well. (Must work on this).  My little WFD also wags her tail at contacts, on the table… I’m so happy!  Great teeter!  Great fast weaves! I do believe that everyone’s highlight was my wipeout on the slippery grass.  It seems that I was the second handler to fall, but notice how Jasmine stays on the A-Frame?  The judge, such a generous person by the way, calls out to the videographer if he had “taken that”.  With friends like these, you don’t need enemies. ; )  Yes, I did feel my body leaning out a bit too much, and once on the ground, I continued my little signature roll.  This roll might be the only reason why I’m not hurting everwhere now.  My second Duh moment?  I didn’t do the rear cross at the last tunnel.   Here is the video.

Standard Run 2

Goal: No sequencing, just a course.  Didn’t work as Jasmine and I obviously didn’t have the same plan after the A-Frame.  I ran one way, she went another.  Quite funny!

You can see the judge trying not to laugh.

This is the video.

Jumpers Run

The masters’ course was quite straightforward, and I felt we could do this.  Yes, one  threadle would be a challenge, but it was worth the try.  Well, I’m still pinching myself.  Jasmine nails it, except for the threadle.  This course’s judge was nice enough to scream the “Q” at me at our 3rd try. : ) I should have known this, but remember, almost no lessons all summer.  (sad sigh)  Still, what a great feeling!  This is where we’ll stop for the day, Jasmine has earned a rest. 

This is the video.

Jasmine’s warm ups  before each run

It was quite interesting.  I never offered her food during the warm up.  We played with the tug.  Our little routine was:

 tug-tug-tug, drop, wait, release dog to tug some more.  Repeat as required. 

 Jasmine loves this.  I’m not saying that this will work every time, but it did today.

Fannie’s debut in agility

So far, I’ve done only foundation work with Fannie.  Last week, I’ve added tunnels and the table to our répertoire.  Here is the video of her tunnels.  Yes, she had fun…

This is the video.

I’m not sure if I’ve done the greatest sin of all by letting Fannie do tunnels at her age.  However, she stayed with me.  She had fun.  I treated the whole 2 minutes as a crate grame session.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in A-Frame, Fannie, Jasmine, startline stay, threadle, tunnel. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to A fun match of firsts

  1. Helen says:

    I don’t think letting Fannie do tunnels will be the end of the world. She seemed to “go” on command and drove out to her toy or back to you. And she was having lots of fun, what more can you ask, that agility be fun.

  2. Helen says:

    Hey your first run with Jasmine was near perfect, even if you did fall down. Did you notice she stopped on the A-frame when you fell but continued on to the contact position when you got up. I’m not a qualified judge but that would have been Q in my books, less the start line stay issue 😉

  3. Andrea says:

    awesome work 🙂 glad you had a chance to have fun!!

  4. @ Helen: About Fannie, yes, I totally agree. She was having fun, and so was I. About Jasmine: Tell me about it. If you look closely, Jasmine wags her tail on top of the A-Frame while I get back up… Talk about distractions eh? Startline stays: Last thing I though I would need to work on.

  5. Lisa says:

    Fannie’s agility debut!!! And I missed it!!! Very glad you got it on video 🙂 She’s super cute and obviously having a ball.

    So much great stuff from Jasmine! Great contacts and no zoomies — very very nice! What a fun day that must have been.

  6. It’s so strange. Most of my “firsts” where on my lonesome this Summer. You would have loved Fannie. She was so funny! Also, Jasmine did an awesome teeter. It even “bounced” and she was at the very end of the plank. I’m quite proud of her.

Leave a Reply

