A new trail on a Thanksgiving weekend

Thanksgiving isn’t a holiday observed by all cultures, and I’m a proof of this.  I first learned about it in second grade at school, when the teacher asked what the “horn of plenty” symbolised, and was quite surprised there was actually an answer to this. ; )  My family does get together during this weekend, but it’s no bigee if we don’t.  We do have supper (no turkey, sorry) and pumpkin pie (yum!), but that’s about it.  Sooooooo.  This year, it was a smallish gathering on Sunday consisting of my parents and myself, enjoying a pork roast and yes, pumpkin pie!  I drove back home later in the day, planning to use the Monday for a round of picture taking and walking with the dogs.  Here are the results.

I decided to walk downtown to see if I could take some interesting shots.  Yes, we are in “Scottish” Ontario country.

It certainly made me giggle!

Then, we were off to one of our favorite walking trails.  I haven’t really explored this site since last Fall.  Most of the trials were badly damaged by trucks, or closed to the public.  I then heard that the organisation responsible for this park was doing a lot of work in 2011, which would explain the damage brought by trucks.

Here is a very happy Fannie, leading the way.  I decided to take a different trail this time, and I finally found the creek the park is named after, to Jasmine and Fannie’s joy!  This is the part that was closed to visitors last year.

This is Jasmine’s kind of creek.  It’s shallow, and doesn’t have a strong current.  Yay!  Both dogs smelled the water quickly, and ran towards it.  Once they had splashed themselves silly, they chased each other for a good five minutes.  Needless to say I was looking forward to all the peace and quiet rest they would need to recharge their batteries later on.  ; )

Close to the creek there was this very old tree.  To my great joy, Fannie climbed it and was exploring it.  Here is the shot I took of her.

We we walking, and as I turned on my left to check out what the dogs were looking at, I see this great picture opportunity.  I quickly grab my camera and go “click”.  I was quite proud of myself. 

The look on my face when I notice the yellow ribbon on that tree?  Priceless….

At one point in the trail, you encounter is well maintained area with trees, planted in a neat row.  We took the time to rest a bit, well, Jasmine and I did.  Fannie was too busy explory and playing hide and seek with Jazz.  ; )  Jasmine never budged from her spot.

Yep, this is the missed shot of the day.  I wasn’t patient enough to call Fannie closer to me.  Sigh.  By the way, Fannie caught her first tick in that park….

We still fun!

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A new trail on a Thanksgiving weekend

  1. Lisa says:

    I’ll have to stop by and say hi to you and the piano keys next time I’m in C-town to rent a kilt!

    Fannie would make a great lead dog for skijoring. Well, maybe if there’s a team of big huskies behind her to do all of the weight-pulling?

    Beautiful photos, Lyne — looks like it was a great walk. L&W and I would love to have you show us around once Walter’s all healed up.

  2. You never know, a kilt is quite handy to have… Yes, Fannie needs to meet a few big huskies to do all the work. You can’t expect a poodle to actually work do you?

    L&W are more than welcome. November is a good month. The trails are still in good condition. : )

  3. Lisa says:

    That’s right — The only work a proper poodle should do is enchant people with her beauty. I’m glad you finally agree on this point.

    😉

Leave a Reply

