Looking ahead to the new year, 2012

A new year, a new beginning, a fresh start.  2011 was a very good year for Jasmine.  She’s now part of the Masters Jumpers and Advanced Gamblers families.  She became an honest to goodness therapy dog with the St. John Ambulance team, and got a brand new roommate, Fannie.

Fannie, the new fluffly dog in our house, is sometimes too much for her, but I catch them playing together quite often.  Jasmine has learned that Fannie is here to stay.  She’ll never admit it, but I think she likes her.  : )

On a more personal level, I’ve finally found real joy in agility, which means that I’m much more relaxed and confident in trials.  I’ve learned that it’s alright to make mistakes, and I try to learn from them.  Do I really learn?  That’s another thing entirely.  ; ) 

Goals for 2012?  Here goes….

Jasmine: Earn her ADC title and complete the required Snooker events to get to the advanced level. 

Fannie: Have her do her weaves by December.  I’m waiting until she’s 18 months to start weaves’ training, so that means June.  I hope to have her comfortable on the obstacle equipement as well, but we’ll see.

Lyne: Start liking snooker.  Finish the library course I’m working on for work.

Now, down to current business….

Our first practice of the year was done in one of our favorite facilities which is located in the Brockville area.  I created a video of our best and learning curve moments.  Yes, I am aware that I may not be rewarding the dogs at the right moment, or shouldn’t be at all.  Remember, we’re on a constant learning curve, the reason why I video our session is to spot my mistakes.

Curious?  Here is the video.

I wasn’t aware of it at the time, but my camera had shut down during one of Jasmine’s turn.  We were working on rear crosses as well as distance. We were able to do awesome rear crosses, but ran out of time to perfect the distance exercices.  I’ll be able to continue this project at home in a park.  It’s something I found in an issue of Clean Run magazine, and I’m looking forward in completing it with little Disco Jazz.

For Fannie, we worked on her jumping, acceleration, deceleration, the bang game on the teeter, and control games.

To work on at our next training session at home…

Jasmine: Rally-O moves

Fannie: Focus forward, beginning work on travel plank, directionals, and Startline stays.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Fannie, Jasmine, startline stay. Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Looking ahead to the new year, 2012

  1. Andrea says:

    awesome plan for the year!
    and awesome work in 2011

    snookers is a great (if very frustrating) game – you’ll get in the spirit of it I know!

  2. Helen says:

    Good goal setting. One question, why are you waiting for Fannie to be 18 months old to just start weave training? Like jumping, you can start when the growth plates close; in a small dog that’s about at a year old.

  3. Pongo and KryptoAlessandra says:

    Hey Lyne, that sounds like a good plan. As for the weaves, I am waiting a bit longer with Krypto as well. I’ll start in a couple of months. Besides, if you use the 2×2 method, isn;’t it 12 poles in 12 days? So, I am pretty sure you will get them perfect by the end of the year!

Leave a Reply

