Never underestimate the power of peanut butter

For years, I’ve been working with a dog who couldn’t care less about food, so imagine my wonder when I see Fannie ready to do backward flips for a crumb.  I remember the first time I practiced the figure eight with food with Jasmine during a rally-o lesson.  She ignored the food in the bowl, but went straight for the toy.  The instructor thought it was quite funny, and I wasn’t surprised.  Yup, Jasmine is toy driven.  As for Fannie, well, that’s another story.

Friday Agility Lesson

The dog school Jasmine attends ; ) is nice enough to accept visiting  dogs in unused areas of the facility provided they’re kept in a crate, while we’re in class in another room.  Fannie is quite the barker, and although she is quite well-behaved and quiet if she can’t see me working with Jasmine, I didn’t want to take any risks.  I arrived, put up the crate, shoved (yes shoved, as I was in a hurry, but Fannie didn’t need a lot of shoving) Fannie in her crate, covered it with a blanket, and threw in a kong full of peanut butter.  She stopped complaining mid-whine, and lo and behold, I heard very serious slurping behind the blanket.  Then…. absolute silence…. broken by the slurping…. Wow!  This kong thing really does work.  YES!  Now, for Jasmine’s agility lesson.

Where’s my speeding bullet?

Oh boy.  The first half of the lesson was the obstacle course.  Jasmine and I weren’t any worst or any better than the other teams.  My handling sucks in gambler, but that’s ok.  I’m learning.  Our previous weave training seems to have disappeared as Jasmine was slow and hesitant in her entry.   This is not the confident little dog we can see in this video taken a few weeks ago.  No worries!  We’ll work on her hesitant performance in confidence building work tomorrow.

The second half of the lesson was the handling part.  Boy oh boy.  Jasmine was ok, following my handing, but her speed, or lack of it, was pitiful.  Yup!  My plan for tomorrow’s club practice is to re-do the exercises, but first and foremost, work to get her drive and confidence back.  The sequences will be shorter, and my role will be to hype her up and praise her.  I want my little speed demon back.  I miss her.

The miracle of peanut butter

Once the lesson was done, we packed up our things, and joined Fannie in her little corner.  The kong has been licked clean.  I’m still speechless.  During my absence, it seems that Fannie told off a dog twice her size.  The staff told Fannie that she loved to live dangerously, but she didn’t heed their advice.  Fannie, you’ll get into serious trouble someday.  Let’s hope I’m there to get you out of it or train you in time to avoid it.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Confidence, Fannie, Jasmine, Speed, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

