The speed demon is back!

We went back to Guides canins today, and tried the same exercises as Friday.  Jasmine, the fast little dog, is back!  No hesitation, and no sniffing around.  Conclusion?  My stress during class is rubbing off big time.  Sigh.

Her weaves were great today, but I’m making myself a note to maintain this.  I also tried some obstacle discrimination with a tunnel/A-Frame situation, and although she went for the A-Frame at our first try, she correctly understood my commands after that. 

Fannie has proven that she’s a champion at her start line stay.  This was our first agility club practice, so we didn’t know any of the other dogs who were there.  Well, little miss Fannie kept her stay even when all those different dogs were taking tunnels, jumps, and running circles around her.  Her little head could hardly keep track of all this activity, and her little poodle tail was wagging furiously….but most importantly… she.kept.her.stay.  Good dog Fannie!  As I was trying to teach her how to take a jump, I realised that I wasn’t making it rewarding at all for her.  Result?  She would run to me when I released her.  I went back to the basics, and it worked.  She also did her first tire (at the lowest height).  Congrats Fannie!  Another little milestone!

On another note, Fannie was at her best when she met new dogs, and puppies.  None of them were overwhelming, so that made it easier for her.  I have to remind myself to bring a treat pouch with me now.  I forget that I’m not training on my own, so rewarding Fannie is even more important.  Bad handler!

We had fun today!  I’m looking forward to next week.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Confidence, Fannie, Jasmine, startline stay, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The speed demon is back!

  1. Yup, they pick up on our energy so easily. Ceilidh used to be so crazy when I was nervous.

  2. Andrea says:

    lovely 🙂 so glad you are thinking about maintaining the fun!

  3. Pongo and Krypto says:

    Awesome! Way to go Lyne!

Leave a Reply

