By popular demand….

Lesson learned:  Never, ever post on Facebook you’re updating your blog.  People think that the new post will be up right away!  Sheesh!

Jasmine’s Therapy Work With SJA

Jasmine and I did our first visit to a local seniors’ home this week.  We were supervised by our mentor, of course, and I think it went well.  We were first sent to one of the meeting areas, where a group of ladies were having their hair and nails done.  We were greeted warmly by all, and Jasmine proved that she wasn’t fazed a bit by the wheelchairs and walkers.   In fact, she surprised everyone by hopping on one of the walkers to get closer to one of the residents.  I was a bit slow on that and the result is the lady knocked her hand on one of the hand bars.  I felt very badly, and will try to be more vigilant in the future.  The lady reassured me that it didn’t hurt at all, but still….

I could see that Jasmine was a bit uncomfortable by the increasing number of people in the room, and was relieved when the activity coordinator suggested we go up on one of the floors to visit other residents.  The home has many francophone residents, which made me more than happy to talk with them.  I’m more comfortable in my first language, and I find I’m much more relaxed when I speak it.  Of course, I was asked the traditional “Tu es la fille de qui?” which translates in “Whose girl are you?” but really means “Who is your father?”.    The resident who asked was a bit disappointed when I answered I wasn’t from the area, but quickly recovered when he found out that I was from the same village than his daughter in law.  I’m giving him a few months before he’ll figure out if our families are related or not.  This *is* Eastern Ontario after all, and most francophone families are related in some way or other.  (In fact, you can say that for the whole French population of North America, but that’s another story entirely.)

Fannie’s Obedience Training

I’ve been attending obedience classes in town, and am very proud to say that Fannie has “successfully completed” the Puppy Obedience level.  Our graduation exercise was to walk to four different stations; each identified by an orange cone, and complete an exercise.  Fannie did very well on the stations, was extremely interested in the cones, but showed poor heeling skills between the exercises.  This was a good test for us as I’m hoping she’ll be ready to compete in a rally o trial before the end of 2012.  This tells me that I’ll have to find a fun match to practice our skills. She has no trouble doing most of the basic stations, but her “cone” issue still needs to be worked on.  ; )

The Keys’ Agility Training

Last week, Jasmine and I attending a “Distance” workshop, and we were eager to practice our newfound skills. 

I was given the opportunity to share my training time in Mallorytown today with another agility handler in the area, and I had fun, fun, fun.  I practiced distance drills with Jasmine, and my goal for her was not only to take the weaves at a distance, but do so with SPEED!  You know what?  She did!  To my great surprise, Jasmine also totally understood the “Get Out” command from the workshop last Sunday.  I hope we’ll have a chance to repeat this tomorrow during our club’s practice.

Fannie did her first 2 jump combination, as well as some distance work with one jump, then two jumps.  I was feeling ambitious, and tried a jump, tunnel, jump sequence with her as well.  We still need to make her less choppy, but she eventually succeeded!  What a change from sensitive little Jasmine.  When Fannie wouldn’t succeed an exercise, she would simply be ready to try it again.  No zooming.  No anxiety.   She just wanted to learn.  She was so eager to work, that when I took Jasmine out of their crate after a little break later on, Fannie snuck out and bounced to the three obstacle sequence and waited for me.  She seemed to be saying: “C’mon Lyne!”  “I’m ready to work and have fun!”.  She’s so funny.

 

 

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Confidence, Fannie, Jasmine, Speed, Therapy Dog, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to By popular demand….

  1. Well I see the problem, that could have been 3 blog posts, then we wouldn’t have had to ask where the update was, LOL.
    Nice work at the Seniors Home, I know they (the Seniors) love it.

  2. Pongo and KryptoAlessandra says:

    Wow Lyne, what an update!!
    I should use you as an example and go update my blog…one of these days LOLLL

    I am happy to read that the girls are doing well and improving in their skills! Way to go Lyne!!

  3. Andrea says:

    Nice work… I love seminars with lots to take away …

Leave a Reply

