Agility practice before an agility weekend

I am very fortunate by having a friend who very generously lends me her place and equipment for agility training. 

My original plan was to get up early, zip to her place, train for about 30 to 40 minutes, then go home for a good cup of coffee.  Well, flush that idea!  I pushed the snooze button way too many times, fell back asleep, and go up at around 10:30 am.  : (  Oh well.  I tried.

After a dentist appointment, I finally did zip to my friend’s place at around 4 pm.  Both dogs had 2 sessions of about 3-4 minutes each, and were happy as clams, even with the hail!

Jasmine’s time

My friend had set up a course (clever friend), so I worked at Jasmine’s weaves (with difficult entries too) and jumping.  Jasmine was so happy, she actually made one of the poles wiggle!  What a feat for a little WFD. 

The second session was a combination of dogwalk, jump, teeter, you name it.  We’ve only been at this place once before, so I was surprised by her level of confidence.  She jogged (yes, jogged) across the dogwalk.  I’m so proud of her, I was laughing through the sequences.

Fannie’s time

We practiced the bang game again, but the teeter was at least 1 foot above ground this time.  She remembered how much rewarding she got yesterday morning, because she didn’t need any urgings from my part. Bang!  Bang!  Bang!  She’s still a bit surprised by the sound, but not as much I think.

We worked on some rear-end awareness (backing up) on the A-Frame as well as some contact work.  After we were done, she turned around, and kept on climbing.  Hmm.  I picked her up, put her back on the ground to leave, but she was faster than me.  Up she went again.  Sigh.  I humoured her, and she climbed, went over the top, went down again, and did a contact.

……….

??????

WTF????????????

 

I meant to write,

“What in the world????????????????

After I closed my mouth, I remembered to reward her. 

 Anyone who knows Jasmine’s history on the A-Frame will understand my reaction.  I spent almost 2-3 years training, re-training, and training this obstacle with her before she understood what was expected of her.  Sure, my inexperience in the sport of agility didn’t help things, but her fear of heights was something she also had (and still has) to overcome.  Consequently, Fannie’s lack of concern climbing that A-Frame is wonderful to see.  Yes, our contacts still need to be worked on big time, but what a beginning.  The challenge now will be to keep that great stride on the obstacle and not pick up bad habits. 

Next, the weaves!  We’ve done two previous sessions of 2×2 and today, I added the second set of weaves.  Fannie is starting understand the entries through clockwork start positions.  Yep, she even nailed a tough one!  : )  She still needs some work on seeing the second set of 2×2.  That’s a good plan for our next session. : )

Nature’s fury

Our last little sessions were to be jump work.  Unfortunately, Mother Nature decided to throw rain, snow, hail, and strong winds.  Fannie was fazed, but Jasmine tend to shut down in these kind of conditions.  I decided to pack up and leave.

Sigh.  What a great day!

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Agility practice before an agility weekend

  1. Andrea says:

    sounds awesome! congrats!

  2. Sounds like you had a good practice. Isn’t great when the new dog just gets it? I’m sticking by my belief that Beckett is possessed by Ceilidh, he just seemed to learn so quickly.

  3. Lisa says:

    Yeah!! Now that is a great agility day! Super stuff from both the keyz. Way to go, ladies!

  4. Yeah well, that little storm resulted in a achy ear, runny nose, and goosebumps the day after. I stayed at home, but believe it or not, I would have prefered to go to work.

Leave a Reply

