April Trials

This is so exciting.  This is my first year when I can actually register Jasmine in agility trials and be confident that she’s as ready as she’ll ever be.  This weekend was no exception, and we found ourselves at Dreamfields to attempt, yet again, our luck at Starters Standard and (Eeek!) Starters Snookers.

Lesson on the Friday

Jasmine and I are part of a weekly class on Friday evenings at a local agility school.  Little did I know that this lesson was the snooker segment of the session.  For the first time in my life, I felt that there is a supreme being somewhere looking after me.  The school certainly doesn’t plan their lessons according to Jasmine’s (and mine) trialing schedule, so how can this be explained? 

Agility Day

This agility facility always plans (I think) their starters events on the Saturday afternoon.  Phew!  I was able to relax in bed, take my time to get ready, and enjoy the drive there.  Once arrived, agility friends accepted to free up some space for us (the crating area is limited) and I was able to set up Jasmine and Fannie’s crates.

Starters Standard

I was a bit nervous because Jasmine’s weaves’ were slow during class the night before (well, we were inside after all).  Hmpf!  Was I every wrong!  The weaves were perfect and fast!  The table?  Perfect!  I even gave her a foolish grin as we were waiting for the table count.  What went wrong?  A tunnel entry, that’s what!  Isn’t that silly?  I think it is.  As we were running, I was wondering why I was hearing a “Ahhhh” from the crowd at the last tunnel.  Hadn’t we gotten a refusal at the chute for a similar fault?  My friends assure me that no, we hadn’t.  Therefore, we goofed at the second last obstacle.  Doesn’t that sound familiar from our last attempt at ST last Fall?  We had a 10 points deduction, so I assume that we did 2 things wrong. 

Result: Faults: 10, Time 79.78, SCT 88, YPS 1.80.

Starters Standard

Well, I celebrated too quickly again.  Jasmine flew off the Dogwalk (which was the second last obstacle, AGAIN!)  We have a recuring theme here, don’t we?  Jasmine was magnicient in that fly off.  Not only did she she complete a pefect jump, no, let’s call it a hop, over the contact zone, I’m positive her cute little front paws were perfectly parallel to each other.  Believe it or not, I was shaking my finger and scolding her on our way out the course.  Was I smiling?  Of course. No need to get upset about agility.  Jasmine actually barked during our first run, which is her way of saying “I’m having FUN!”. It’s not her fault that her handler released her too quickly.

Result: Faults: 5, Time 72.08, SCT 88, YPS 2.

Starters Snooker = Medieval Torture Device (MTD)

I force myself to register in snooker, simply because I want to learn how to love it, which I will eventually, darn it!  Very good friends helped me plan a course, but I’m afraid I used the original one I had devised.  I should have followed their advice.  My plan was complicated for nothing, and most importantly, too long.  Jasmine also decided to go on a sniff phase, which didn’t help things.  I also forgot to do the second part of a combination in the opening, which resulted in even fewer points.  I doubt I would have been able to Q, even with more time.  Sooooo.  We ran out of time at obstacle #3 of the end sequence.  What’s the good news you ask?  We actually were NOT whistled of during the opening.  Yes!  We went beyond!  Sigh.  I’m so proud.

I forgot to note our results, sorry!

Conclusion

The runs were challenging, and it added to the fun.  Thanks to Dreamfields and our esteemed judge for a great day!  Jasmine won best run (I’m not sure how that works) for the ST events, which means we now have 2 new stuffed toys in our collection.  I gave one toy to each dog so they would have company in their crate while I volunteered.  Jasmine, of course, used hers as a pillow.  ; )

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Dogwalk, Jasmine. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to April Trials

  1. Lisa says:

    Loved that write-up — almost as good as being there. One thing I like about Snooker is that you get to design half of the course yourself and pick the obstacles/path that are best for your dog. I do think it’s great that you made it all the way to the closing!

Leave a Reply

