Jasmine + ST = Q = ACD

To say that I haven’t waited for this day for a long, long time would be a lie.  Let’s start from the very beginning, shall we?

The weather didn’t look good

Jasmine’s weakness is very cold weather mixed with rain.  This probably puts stress on her luxating patella, and you can see this by her increased skipping.   If you add the pressure of being at an actual trial, it did not bode well.

First Run : Masters Jumpers

The first run of the day is our second attempt at a masters jumpers course.  From the course map, it seems do-able, but there are a few spots where obstacle discrimination skills are required.  Not our forte, but I’m somewhat confident that we have a slim chance in succeeding.  From what you’ll see on the video, we do fall in the trap, and Jasmine takes the wrong tunnel entry.  Since I’m not really sure what I’m doing, I’ll take full blame of the mistake.   Jasmine, for her part, is only following my lead.

Second Run : Starters Snookers

Since I don’t fully understand the game yet, our chances are nil in qualifying.  We make the same mistake as last time (taking the jump #2 at the wrong time in the end sequence), so a little discussing with one of my agility savvy friends will be required in the near future.  No use in trying to run these courses if the rules are still a mystery to me.

Third Run : Starters Standard

I checked my notes, and our recurring mistakes in standard runs in the past are missed contacts on second last obstacles (remember last week?), ignoring teeters or dogwalks, and finally, sniffing the ground AKA avoidance.  All of this can be summarised in more contact training with distractions, increasing the ratio of obstacle rewarding during practice, and finding a way to get Jasmine to focus on me.  On Friday, we did a very short training session in contacts with distractions as well as rewarding obstacle training with toys only.  Today, I did some rally-o exercises before our standard run.  I guess it worked!  : )  Here is the video.  Fortunately, you don’t see my jumping up-and-down happiness at the end of the run.  Why am I so excited?  This is the run we were missing to obtain our Agility Dog of Canada title!  Yep, Jasmine is now an ADC dog!!!!!  Woohoo!!!!  I was looking through our videos this evening, and our very first agility trial was in 2008 (ok, so I lied) and we’ve been waiting for this moment for four years, not five.   

Our day in pictures….

 Her is one very happy team with the very Honourable AAC judge.

Once home, Jasmine celebrates by munching on a pig’s ear.  This is very serious chewing here…

 

Of course, Fannie must join in the celebration….  ; )

 Little fluffy dogs must wash themselves after eating their snacks, on the chesterfield, of course.

 

 Jasmine with her Agility Dog of Canada loot.  She’s barely keeping her eyes open, that’s how tired she is.

Don’t worry Fannie, your turn will come. 

 

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in A-Frame, ACD, Confidence, Jasmine, Qualifying Runs. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Jasmine + ST = Q = ACD

  1. Lisa says:

    Ahhhh, I wish I had been there to see the jumping up and down in person!

    You guys are doing so well! Loved the Jumpers run too. A tricky course but she tried her best the whole way through.

    Big congrats again!

  2. The wrong tunnel mouth is hard as the entrances are so close together. Been there, done that.

    Big Congrats on the ADC!!!

  3. Andrea says:

    Well done!!!
    Congratulations to you both! Snookers will come – honest!

  4. As I wrote on FB, I think that a little jumping up and down at the end of your title run is well deserved and totally justified! Huge congrats to you and disco Jazzy!

  5. Thanks everyone for your kind words! I really missed you guys on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

