As it fell upon a day, in the merry month of May

As it fell upon a day
In the merry month of May,
Sitting in a pleasant shade
Which a grove of myrtles made,
Beasts did leap, and birds did sing,
Trees did grow, and plants did spring;

William Shakespeare, 1564-1616.

This beautiful sonnet from Shakespeare describes well our month of May.  I certainly had no idea what I was doing when I entered all these trials.  Last week, it was Dreamfields, and this weekend, Guides canins.  Dogs did leap and bark, and humans sit in the shades, which is doubly appreciated on a very warm day.  While all of this is happening, my grass is in a serious need of mowing.

Dreamfields

We entered two advanced standards, and one standard snooker.  Jasmine’s first run was a bit confusing, as the buzzer went off for training time, not the standard course time.  I stopped, looked at the judge (a very nice person by the way), and asked: “Are we done?”.  She hesitated (I think) looked at the person responsible for the time, and anwered: “Keep going.”  I did, even though we already had a refusal.  Why not?  It’s good practice time.  I even felt brave enough to ask the judge what had happened, and “Am I eligible for a re-run?”.  Yeah well, even though I’ve been doing this for a few years, I’m still not sure of all the rules.  Bad, bad, Lyne.  ; )

Jasmine decided to go off sniffing the ground during our second advanced standard, so no more comments on that run.

Finally, we did it!  We qualified in starters snooker.  Here is the video.  Yes, her sniffing moment at the very beginning scared me, but Jasmine chose to cooperate after that.  The evil blind cross was not planned by the way.

Guides canins

Man oh man, was it warm today!  We reached a boiling 32 degrees celsius, 33 with the humidex, on a month of May when a normal average is 21, that’s… uncomfortable….  Even Jasmine was panting, which is quite rare.

Jasmine was entered in advanced standard, advanced gamblers, and starters snooker.  I think we had a good chance in doing the advanced gamblers, but Jasmine decided that she had better things to do, and started sniffing.  I took her off the course, with no reward.  I wasn’t ill-tempered of anything, I simply picked her up and walked away.

The advanced standard was better, but I did a big no-no.  We had 25 faults, which I know included her refusing to enter the evil chute, refusing to weave, and something else.  My big mistake was not correcting her when she bypassed the weaves!!!!  What was I thinking?  Something else is bothering me.  Her contacts are…. weird to say the least.  She creeps down to the yellow zone, puts her front paws on it, waits until I release her, then hops off very quickly just in case I correct her.  It’s not something she does in training…  Any suggestions?

Oh, her teeter, which is always a challenge in a competition, was textbook perfect!  Yay!

Finally, starters snooker, the run I’m happy about.  We had a good run, but the course was a bit tricky to understand.  There were two start lines, which is a bit complicated for snooker rookies like us.  We were able to do a 21 points opening, but right after finishing the last obstacle before starting the closing, which was a tunnel, Jasmine headed straight for the dog walk, #7.  Oops!!!  Yes, the dw was right smack in her line, and yes, I did call her in the tunnel, but it wasn’t meant to be.  I keep working contact equipment with Jasmine, so it’s more than normal that she heads for it.

The good news?  She followed me every step of the way (minus the dogwalk).

Funny news?  Fannie met her first horse today.  I had set up the x-pen near the horse trail, which is close to one of this facility’s borders.  No a very smart move, I see that now, but I was more concerned finding a spot than being logical.  I knew a horse was walking by every time, because I would hear Fannie throw a fit from everyone on the grounds.  Yes, we dog owners can recognize our dogs’ barking anywhere, anytime.

 

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in contact, Jasmine, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to As it fell upon a day, in the merry month of May

  1. Pongo and Krypto says:

    Hey Lyne, when I entered my first agility trial, it was the May trial at Guides Canins in 2009. It was so cold we were wearing gloves, drinking hot chocolate and coffee, and we sat with a cover wrapped around our body! And maybe because of inexperience, maybe because of the cold, Pongo was wild and did many crazy things!
    I think you were brave to still go, despite the heat, and kudos to Jazmine for trying to keep up with you in the abnormal heat of May. Way to go for Snookers, and the perfect teeter!!

  2. Lisa says:

    I guess if there’s anything to be thankful for in the weather department it’s that the humidex only added one degree…. oh man, still sooooo hot though.

    P&K — holy, what a change in weather from 2009!! Sheesh!

  3. Jasmine’s first rally-o trail was during the Guides canins event in May of… 2008 maybe? It was raining, and I think we may have reached the 8 degrees celcius. Yes, a change in weather indeed!

Leave a Reply

