Dogwalk and Distance Work

It was Jasmine’s turn to an agility lesson this evening, and our first in the outside rings at Guides canins. 

Distance work

I really liked our distance work exercise.  We practiced our flips as well as creating a curved path to help the dog find her line and see the tunnel entry.  To my surprise, Jasmine “flipped”well.  Unfortunately, I’m not very skilled in showing her the right path and curve. ; )  A work in progress.  Here is a very amateur artistic attempt in creating an image of the sequence.

Contact work

There were many splints (I hope I’m using the right term) in the sequences.  Jasmine completed the contact equipment in a satisfactory way, even though she hesitated at the top of the A-Frame.   There was a tricky sequence, which unfortunately I can’t remember now…  I’m hoping to e-mail the school and ask for a copy of the course map.  Let’s hope they agree.

Standard Course

To my great surprise, all the students were corralled in one ring to attempt an honest to goodness standard course.  One of the instructors was the judge, and the other was the scribe/timer.  Yikes!  Of course, I didn’t take the necessary time to memorise the course, but still, it wasn’t that bad.  Jasmine missed her weaves’ entry, and it was slow going at her second attempt.  Interesting.  The instructor suggested, and I will follow his advice, rewarding Jasmine more frequently between jumps, and not just contact obstacles.  This may decrease her sniffing during a run.

Fannie’s turn

After Jasmine’s lesson, it was Fannie’s turn to try a few obstacles.  We worked on some jumps to improve her drive and later, we worked on the A-Frame and tunnels.  She was quite insistent on trying the dogwalk, even though she’s quite scared of it.  She eventually strolled on it, and like a big girl, completely did it!!!!  Yes, she even included the contact!!!  What a good girl she is.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in contact, Distance, Dogwalk, Fannie, Jasmine, Reward, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Dogwalk and Distance Work

  1. I like the distance work exercise. Thanks for posting it, I will try it with Krypto when his paw is ok. I find the tunnel entry quite challenging.
    But, bad bad Lyne, you forgot the std course LOLL!!!
    And kudos to Fannie for doing the dog walk and stopping in contact position! Way to go BFD!!
    And interesting suggestion from the instructor. SOmething I will keep in mind 🙂
    Thanks for sharing!

  2. Lisa says:

    I love distance too — with Walter anyway. Lucy never seemed to remember things from one practice to the next! With all this distance practice you guys are going to become a great gambling team. That one you showed does look very tricky! But a fun challenge for you.

  3. Did you have to stay on the line for your distance work exercise? If you did, that is pretty tough tunnel mouth.

Leave a Reply

