Roast beef vs bacon

Jasmine: “Kid?”

Fannie: “Oooo.  Look at that butterfly!  How pretty!  Oooo. Look at that bird, maybe it wants to play with me?”

Jasmine: “Hey, kid!”

Fannie: “Hmmm.  I wonder what’s behind that bush?  Oooo.  A weed!  What a beautiful weed.”

Jasmine: “FANNIE!!!”

Fannie: “Maybe if I give the weed to the bird, it will love me.  Let’s dig!  Jasmine?  Oooo.  I love you!  Except when you play with my toys, then I want them back, but I love you any-

Jasmine: (Sigh!)  “Will you please listen to me!”

Fannie: “Well, ok, only if you say happy things.”

Jasmine: “I will.  How’s agility going?”

Fannie:  “Agility?  Ooooo.  It’s fun!  I do exactly what you tell me to do.  I concentrate on Lyne.  I listen very carefully.  I don’t zoom away.  I’m going to be the bestest agility dog e.ver!

Jasmine: “That’s exactly the problem.  You’re too good at it for the amount of time Lyne practices with you.  You’ll have to make a few mistakes once in a while ok?  You’re making me look bad.

Fannie: “I am?  Gee, I’m so sorry.  I wouldn’t want to do that.  I am doing my darnest at being crappy at agility, but Lyne gives me such good rewards,  I just wanna to everything she says.  It’s so fun!  I also get to see more humans, more butterflies, more birds, more bugs, more grass, more-

Jasmine: “I know, I know, you’re happy.  Listen, about the bacon on the teeter.”

Fannie: “Oooo.  The teeter is sooooo hard to do, but don’t worry, I’ll get it in no time.  That bacon is so good and it really helps me to concentrate, and-

Jasmine: “Fannie, I made Lyne wait a whole year before doing the A-Frame properly, and that’s only after she gave me roast beef.  You get bacon only after a few weeks.  That’s totally unacceptable!”

Fannie: “Oooo.  Well, she also gave me Natural Balance, and Benny bullies, and Are-ful good beef jerky, WAIT!!!!  YOU GOT ROAST BEEF????”

Jasmine: “Well, bacon ain’t that bad kiddo”.

Fannie: “Still, what should I do to get roast beef?”

Jasmine: “Take your time on the teeter.  Make Lyne think you’re terrified of it.  It’s actually fun to see what good food she can come up with.

Fannie: “Oh.  Alrighty then, I’ll do my best.  Thanks for your help!”

Jasmine: “No prob.   Just doing my job as the alpha dog”.

Fannie: “Ooo.  Look at that fly!  What a nice fly!  Dum de dum.  I wonder what’s going on outside?”

……

WAIT A F***ING MINUTE!  YOU’RE NOT ALPHA DOG!  I AM!  C’MERE AND SAY THAT TO MY FACE!!

Jasmine: “Go away.  I’m trying to sleep”

Fannie: OH NO!  WE’RE NOT DONE HERE!!!!

GGRRRRRRR!  BARK! BARK! BARK!  YAP!  GRRRRRRR!

Lyne: FANNIE! JASMINE! STOP FIGHTING!!! 

(Sigh)

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Roast beef vs bacon

  1. Very entertaining!!! Made my morning 🙂

  2. Lisa says:

    Ditto!! I could see it playing out in my head as I read it!

  3. I’m always wondering what goes on when they “seem” to be communicating. This one wasn’t very hard to imagine. 😉

Leave a Reply

