Post-Camping Syndrome

Post-Camping Syndrome  noun. << pohst-kampihng  SIHN drohm>>

Post-camping syndrome is a state of mind which usually occurs at the subject’s arrival at her house.  It includes, but is not limited to:

  1. The sudden need to stay away from other human beings.  This behavior can also be experienced towards the canine breed if specimens were amongst the camping group.
  2. Making lists of everything, of everyone, and everywhere.
  3. Finding all the items that were desperately searched for, but left un-found prior to camping.
  4. Smiling foolishly when flushing a toilet.
  5. Repeating item number 4 continuously for no apparent reason.
  6. Unexplained urges to clean and be clean.
  7. Joining the strange race of wanting to post camping pictures on facebook, then regretting the fact a few months later.  Ei.:  “OMG, this picture is public, and I’m not even wearing a BRA!!!”
  8. Promising one’s self to lose weight after looking at said pictures.
  9. Taking pictures of Fun Guy fungi.
  10. Finding sand everywhere.
  11. Scratching everywhere because of mosquito bites.
  12. Throwing away the can of bug dope because of its ineffectiveness.
  13. Wondering why on earth camping is such a popular hobby.
  14. Accepting the fact that this hobby will probably be repeated again and again, against all better judgment.

Jokes aside, we had great fun at our yearly camping pilgrimage.  A group of agility handlers get together once a year for a camping weekend.  This year, the chosen park is Fitzroy Provincial Park, which is located west of Ottawa.  Some of us had done a “survey” of the place during last year’s trip, and our lots had been previously analysed and deemed acceptable by the experts of the group.

Fighting Racoons

This was to be Jasmine’s fourth camping trip, and Fannie’s second.   You would think it was their first.  Last year’s trip had been uneventful, and both had been on their best behavior.  Not so this time.    When bedtime arrived, Jasmine totally refused to accept the fact that Fannie was sharing our tent, and three fights occurred during the night.  The next morning, I was told that they sounded like fighting raccoons.  (Yes, they did sound bad).  We were two humans sharing the tent, and it required both of us to stop their fights.  The next evening, we didn’t even have the time to settle in, and the dogs were already at each other.  My friend took one dog in her bed, I took the other in mine, and they finally settled down.  Note to self for our next trip: not to share a tent with another human, and bring a crate.  Why so much fighting?  I think it’s because Jasmine’s favorite humans, CM and I, were both in a tent with Fannie.  She was jealous, and refused to allow Fannie having fun with both of us.  We’ll see how they behave in August, at our next camping trip, when I’ll be on my own in my tent.

Good times for all

As always, great company makes a great party.  Although the water levels are very low, we still had fun splashing in the great mighty Carp River.   Both Jasmine and Fannie love to run around, but swimming is still something they don’t have great fun with.

Jasmine: Must I?  Really?

 Fannie: Shake a shake!

Striking a pose

The region is going through a serious drought, which means that the park had ordered a complete fire ban.  The water level was very low.

We had a visitor had our campsite.  She looks quite used to humans.

The little angels…. NOT!!!!

Jasmine:  OMG, Fannie is kidnapping CM!!!  I told you we should have gotten rid of that dog!!!

Post-Camping Syndrome: The keys sleeping as far away as possible the first day at home….

 A great weekend!  Can’t wait for the next camping trip in a mere few weeks.

P.S.  I have no idea if I used the right letters for my phonetic translation of “Post-Camping Syndrome”.  I apologise in advance for the errors.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Camping, Fitzroy Provincial Park. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Post-Camping Syndrome

  1. Andrea says:

    apart from the battles (and how i hate those!) it sounds like a great trip!! Thanks for sharing!

  2. You’re too funny. I used to go camping to do Number 1. I didn’t throw out the bug juice but I’m going to buy After Bite, number 11 got me out of bed on Sunday night it was so bad. I’ve never had the urge for number 4 or 5, guess I’m used to those vault toilets. Although I will admit some are pretty awful.

Leave a Reply

