Those wonderful lazy Sunday afternoons

Agility

Environment Canada was forecasting rain today, but they inserted a little sun behind their cloud icon, so I risked it and did agility.

It was a warm day, so I didn’t expect the dogs to do their three turns each as they usually do.  Each dog completed her individual 3 minutes sessions twice, with lots, and lots of breaks, and that was it.

My choice today was working on distance work with Jasmine as we’re both participating at the Hilltop Trial next weekend.   Although we’re not entered in any gambling events, I find that distance can be used in many situations.  It also gives confidence to dogs.  For Fannie, we worked on 2x2s and basic distance work as well.  As I’m very lazy and try not to move obstacles if I don’t have to, I set up four jumps with the teeter at the very end. 

With Jasmine, the end result was three jumps and teeter, and with Fannie, four jumps, but no teeter.  I practiced my “Get out” command with Jasmine, and Fannie my “Continue” command, which is probably “go” for the rest of the planet.  I used back chaining to get them both used to having me away.  Here is a basic diagram.

 Jasmine’s sequence is the square number, and Fannie the round number.

Result: Jasmine doing three jumps and teeter, with me at about 10-15 feet away.  Fannie was able to complete two jumps, and I was not running at her side.  The greatest challenge for Fannie was Jasmine’s decision to leave her chair perch, and join us.  She plonked down underneath the A-Frame, in the shade, to watch us.  Fannie wanted to visit her, but in the end, completed two jumps with me behind her.  Afterwards, I ran with her for the four jump sequence and teeter.  No distance.  The level of difficulty was still high as she had to stay at my side and run, instead of playing with Jazz, which is what she really wanted to do.  Distractions, distractions, distraction….  Anything goes I say.

Catty action on the agility field

When I arrived, my friends cat was waiting for me on one of the chairs, quite comfy. 

I insisted removing him from the chair, as I wanted to watch the dogs while I got my things prepared.  It was Jasmine and Fannie’s first time in a dog kennel (I think), and didn’t want to take any chances.  He looked quite comfy in the chair I chose for him.

By the way, my friend has beautiful flowers doesn’t she?

Hmmm.  I think the dogs are sending little daggers at me with their eyes.  “How come the cat is on a chair and we’re in a prison kennel?” 

It did take a while for the cat to find the perfect position, as you can see.

Jasmine’s perch while Fannie and I were working.

The little devils angels, so well behaved.  (NOT!)

It’s a cat’s world….  I had to “disturb” him to retrieve my bag before we left.  He hadn’t budged in an hour…

I’ve been hearing about a dog beach in the Cornwall area, and finally “found” it.  I must admit I had been there last summer, but Jasmine had found goose poop within the first five minutes we arrived, and the smell emanating from her after convinced me to leave after being there not very long.  This time, she stayed by my side, courtesy of very yummy treats. 

This is what the locals call, the “Free beach”.  The park adjacent to it is kept clean, but not the beach itself.  The authorities keep an eye out for e-coli contamination since that was the reason why we didn’t play in the water last year.  Since it’s free, I was told not to be surprised to find humans, dogs, and even horses playing in river at the same time.  Today, thank goodness, was a quiet day.

Here is a series of pictures I morphed in one to give an idea of the place.

I played in the water with them by throwing their favorite water toy in the river.   Both dogs preferred to play on their own with me, so each took their turn being tied at a picnic table.  Of course, Fannie made the most fuss, much to the other beach users’ amusement. 

Jasmine actually swam out to the toy with no coaxing from me!!!  This is a first.  There were times that I threw the toy too far away, and she would complete a very graceful u-turn in the water and swim back to me.  It was up to yours truly to fetch the floating toy.  : )  However, she went back again and again when she deemed the distance acceptable.

Fannie is still learning her way in the water.  The little waves were bothering her today, but I’m not worried.  She actually swam a few times to get the toy, but I don’t think she even realized it.  I love it when that happens!

As you can see from this picture, I have a lot of grooming to look forward to this evening.   It’s 9:38 p.m., and the dogs are still sleeping.  My job is done.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Beach. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

