Vacation 2012

Note to reader: this post was actually written a few weeks ago, way back in old 2012 August.  Unfortunately, I’ve been very busy finishing a course I’ve been following for the past two years.  I still think I should document my 2012 Summer vacation, so here goes…

********

Yes, we’re finally on vacation!  Well, I am anyway.  The dogs do work once in a while in agility or rally-o, but they have no paycheck whatsoever.  (Unfortunately)

Camping

Our first day was spent getting ready for our camping trip at Presqu’Île Provincial Park ,  http://friendsofpresquile.on.ca   close to Brighton.  On the Saturday, it was off to the Hilltop Agility Trial, of which I will post very soon, and on the Sunday, off we went…

Here is our traditional “we’re on the road again” picture…  Rest assured, as you can see from the picture, both my hands are on the camera, which means that the car is indeed at a stop!

Ô miracle!  I got to the campsite a mere 60 minutes (it sounds better than 1 hour) after my camping buddy.  May I introduce her dogs?

On your left, Puppy Keltic, and your right, Beckett.

On our first day there, we decided to talk a walk on the Marsh Boardwalk Trail.  This gives you a good idea of our trek.

Jasmine seems to like leading the way now.  I left her off leash for a while, and as you can see, she enjoyed it.  Alas, she decided to hop off the boardwalk to have a drink in one of the open water areas.  Gone was her liberty.  Too bad Jasmine, you should have known better.

At one point in the trail, there is an observation station at a huge willow.  We took a few minutes to rest and allow the dogs to cool off in the shade.  It seems that both Jasmine and Fannie wish to go back and walk the boardwalk again.

Back in the woods, where the dogs seem to breathe a sigh of relief, we came upon what seems to be one of the main attractions of the park, these strange formed cedars.  Personally, I preferred this strange scenery where the marsh met the raised grown, and two types of vegetations meet.

Back at the campground, the dogs chilled out, and Fannie discovered she quite liked the two sheltie boys.

Keltic the sheltie finally resting.

“Camping is exhausting business.  I have to keep watch over the campsite while my human slaves prepare my food.” says Fannie

Jasmine’s usual favorite camping spot.

As usual, the keys are going their separate ways.

Lake Ontario

Both Jasmine and Fannie had a dip in the Lake Ontario waters.  We had access to a rocky beach, and the waves were quite strong, for little dogs that is.  Jasmine never hesitated, and followed me in the water.  She even withstood the evil waves.  Fannie was much more reluctant, but was happily hopping over the waves.  I made a video out of clips I took while we were out there.  You’ll see that Fannie was one happy water dog.  I do apologise for the shaky video.

Here are a few pictures of our time at the beach.

This is all for now.  Stay tuned for another installment.  ; )

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Camping, Uncategorized, Vacation. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vacation 2012

  1. It was a fun trip. I never saw that heart on the beach.

Leave a Reply

