Snooker again

After a very foggy drive and a wake-up call at 4:30 am , we found ourselves at Dreamfields today,  The good news is I arrived there even before the events started, so it was a nice change from my usual rushing in to set up camp, and register.

I wasn’t in a picture-taking mood, so I unfortunately have no pics of our set up.  I was lucky to be able to sit besides good friends, so we had great fun throughout the day.  Our first event was advanced gambler, something that we’ve been studying and working on the past few weeks.  My videographer could only catch the last few seconds, but you can see our “slight” mix up at the main gamble.  I think it’s quite amusing to see my slow “moment” when I realise that I goofed up.   I’m relieved to see that Jasmine “could” have nailed it, so our hard work is paying off.  It’s not Jasmine’s fault she has me as a handler.  Here is the video.  My little victory is Jasmine’s little bark and hop during our run to the main gamble.  I had a happy little dog.

The second event was advanced standard.  I had previously decided that Jasmine would complete her contacts, whether she liked it or not.  So, I patiently waited at each contact obstacle for her to finish, and she did!  We lost a heck of a lot of time doing this, but I didn’t want to risk it.  I rather have time faults than blown contacts.  All in all, she did a perfect run and was focused on me all the way, which is what I’m looking for.  Her weaves were beautiful; a huuuge improvement from previous fun matches and trials. Jasmine slows down when she’s confused, or when I correct her, so nothing was stopping her this time, let me tell ya.  What a great little dog!  Here is the video of our run.

Although we arrived at around 7:15 am, our next event was scheduled for 6:30 pm.  Sigh.  I volunteered as exist wrangler (hee-haw!) and course building to pass the time.  Otherwise, I walked both dogs, separately of course, around so they wouldn’t get bored.  I chatted with friends, and was the official videographer for others.

Finally, it was time for the snooker event.  It was doable, but I expected to run like heck.  Well, I didn’t have time to even get to a run, because Jasmine did a back jump on the second red, and it was an “end story” right there.  A total of 5 points (I think).  No video, as I was too tired to even bother, and everyone was packing up as it was already 6:30.  Wrap arounds are something that Jasmine has down pat, so I’m the one who didn’t handle it well, and she simply followed my lead.  I even remember how little I helped her with that last jump.

Weekend results: 

First place in AG.  Sure, sure, we were 1 of 1, but who cares?  It’s a first place ribbon, right?

Second place in AD.  2 of 3.  My proudest moment. 

Once at my parents’ I whipped out the ribbon out of my agility, and I do believe I impressed my mother (which is not easy, believe you me).  When she saw the ribbons, she exclaimed how pretty they were and asked if I could hang them on the lamp shades in the living room.  I did, and they’ll be there for a few weeks, or until I come home with new ones.

How funny is that?  I can’t remember my mum asking me to display my winnings when I was young, but with dogs, it’s a different story.   Somehow, I think it’s sweet.  Of course, she also knows that agility is 10 times harder for me than school ever was, so I think she’s giving me a compliment.

What to work on in the next few weeks with Jasmine:

Wrap arounds, lead outs, and contacts.

With Fannie:

Weaves on a different footing, sand is preferable, jumping sequences, and contacts.

With Lyne:

Not become brain dead during a snooker run.  ; )

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Confidence, contact, Distance, Fannie, Focus, Jasmine, startline stay, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Snooker again

  1. Peggy and Nicky says:

    Love these blogs Lyne! Keep writing!

  2. Andrea says:

    so cute … so thoughtful … 🙂
    she’s such a sweetie pie!

Leave a Reply

