Sandy encounters

For the past few months, we’ve been training at a friend’s field about 10 minutes from here.  The footing is grass, of course, but now Winter is on the horizon, and our last fun match at Red Gate has been very revealing.   Not only did Fannie have no idea how to weave on sandy ground, and she didn’t trust new equipment.  It seems that Fannie first needs to tame an unknown teetter every time she meets one and the dogwalk may morph into an unknown obstacle when she’s halfway through.

It’s interesting to go through this with her, because Jasmine was so different at that stage.  She was so busy zooming around, she was never focused enough to listen to me, let alone be picky about the flooring.  I like to think it’s because I know more what I’m doing now, but I see a great difference in both dogs.

Because of this flooring preference, I thought it best to use an arena with similar ground to help Fannie overcome her issues.   What a great way to spend a Saturday afternoon, don’t you think?

We started our session with one of the alphabet drills, the letter P.  I’ve made a video of some of sequences we attempted.

Some of the things to note for Fannie

  • Keep working on her startline stay.  She’s not very consistant.  This can be done at home, in the house or outside in the backyard.
  • Practice more pinwheels.
  • She’s great with the lead-out pivots.  No problem there.
  • Her rear-crosses are getting better.   Include more front crosses at next practice.
  • She now understands focus forward perfectly in practice.  Let’s see what in store for fun matches.

Jasmine

  • Her rear-crosses definitely need more work.  Good thing I videoed the session.  I first thought they weren’t that bad.
  • She still breaks her stay during her lead-out pivots.  This video shows her lah-dee-dah startline break.  It’s quite funny to see after the fact.
  • Try to increase her speed during the pinwheel.  That’s always been a challenge for her.
  • Include some distance drills at next practice.

Let’s weave!

I asked both dogs to weave at least once, just to remind them what it’s all about.  Not only did Fannie improve, but her left entries are getting better.   I should include sharper angles next time.  Jasmine hesitated and sniffed around the weaves poles.  I’ll have to work on proofing her weaving next time, no doubt about that.

The grand finale

I made up a small course will all the obstacles, except for the dogwalk.  One run included the teeter, the second, the A-Frame.

I’m so proud of my little piano keys.  They did so well.  Fannie was so brave, and did the teeter.  She did hesitate, but that’s alright.   Jasmine was her normal consistent in practice self.  😉

From memory, here is the course I made up.  Jasmine did a great contact on the A-Frame, and Fannie did those looooong 12 weaves.  What more can I ask?

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Alphabet drills, Fannie, Jasmine, Rear crosses, startline stay, Teeter, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sandy encounters

  1. Lisa says:

    Fannie is looking so good!! I’m super impressed!

    And yes, Jasmine was pretty cute breaking that startline stay…

  2. KryptoBC says:

    Hey Lyne, you inspired my training session of today! We did not do the same things, but your post was still an inspiration!

  3. KryptoBC says:

    It is your enthusiasm and your perseverance that inspire me 🙂

Leave a Reply

