What to do on a nice, but very cold day

My original plan was to do an agility training session with the piano keys today.  Since I’m working this weekend, why not give myself this little treat?  Wrong!  When I woke up this morning, I consulted Environment Canada’s website, and according to them, it was -20 Celsius.  Needless to say I decided to stay at home.  The agility venue is a 1.5 hour drive from my house, and I really, really didn’t want to risk taking the road in this kind of weather.

I tried to discipline myself in cleaning the house, but my coffee tasted so good, and my book was so interesting, I only dragged myself off the sofa around 11:00 am.

After doing some housework, I did some bit of fun training with Jasmine and Fannie.  Today, we worked on the handstand and the skateboard.

Here is a link to the video of the handstand training, and the video of the skateboard.

Jasmine: Her video is too funny.  In one of her attempts, she’s holding on to the wall with only one paw, while the other is waving in the air.  I couldn’t help giggling during the session.  Her skateboard skills are improving by leaps and bounds!  I can now give the board a little push, and she’ll stay on it.

Fannie: Oh dear.  I really am doing it all wrong with her.  She’s so fast in offering behaviours, that I’m not rewarding the right ones, and she’s doing a cart-wheel.  I might stop uploading videos from her sessions as we’re not showing any changes.

The funniest moment is when Fannie, frustrated by me not rewarding her, blames the wall and scratches it to show her discontent.  Fannie doesn’t suffer fools lightly.

At the end of the day, I gave them an off-leash walk.  On our return, they both snuggled in and slept all evening.

dormir

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Fannie, Handstand, Jasmine, Skateboard. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What to do on a nice, but very cold day

  1. KryptoBC says:

    So cool! Disco Jazzy is almost there!! Can’t wait to see the final results!

Leave a Reply

