Same old, same old

I haven’t posted in a while, but there hasn’t been much going on.  No trials, no therapy dog visits, no fun matches, a few agility and rally-o practices, but nothing special.

Therapy Work – Handstand and skateboard

Both dogs have improved their handstands considerably.  They can now go up on their two front legs without a prop or wall.  Jasmine loves the skateboard as it’s a great source of food.

Agility

We’ve been working on the letter “V”, which puts emphasis on 270 turns.  Although Fannie’s turn is a bit too wide, she’s going along nicely.  Handler error is the cause of her mistakes 100% of the time.  Jasmine’s A-Frame is now perfect at our training arena, but Fannie’s weaves are choppy and unreliable to say the least.

Fannie has to start practicing on the wobble board again.  I was able get rid of Jasmine’s fear of the teeter.  I can do the same with Fannie.  Yes, she still hesitates.

Winter walks

For the size of our community, we have great parks and walking trails.  Last weekend, we joined a friend and she was nice enough to bring her camera.  Great pictures were taken, and here are a few.  After the walk, I had planned to do some grocery shopping, which I did.  I hadn’t taken into consideration that the wet snow was would be so…. Wet.  Yes, I squished squashed my way at the store, but my fellow shoppers were too polite to stare.

Jasmine and Hannah   Hannah, the elected leader by the other dogs, is chasing Jasmine.

jasmine dans les air

Jasmine, enjoying a super fast run in the snow.

head tiltb

Head tilt à la Fannie.  The photographer was meowing.  😉

fanniebl

The snow was very wet and sticky.  The dogs’ fur wasn’t bad, but after an hour’s walk, it was time to go home.

montagez

This last picture was taken in January.  It’s my attempt to show how difficult it is to photograph Jasmine when Fannie is around.  The kid always wants to be in the picture.

Rally-o

Fannie’s heeling is great, but she still sits at an angle, and the 1-2-3 step station still requires work.  Jasmine is great in practice, and let’s hope I can be a great partner for her during a trial.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in A-Frame, Alphabet drills, Fannie, Handstand, Jasmine, Rally obedience, Skateboard, Therapy Dog, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Same old, same old

  1. Lisa says:

    Sounds like you’ve enough going to keep you and the dogs busy. Great pictures!

  2. Great pictures! You’re more active than me. I spent one evening trying to teach the boys a trick, that was last week, haven’t done another session yet. AARF this weekend, wish you guys were there.

Leave a Reply

