The visit has arrived!

Contrary to what people may think, I actually like border collies.  I even considered adopting one when I was looking for a second dog.  Jasmine loves them, and they love her.  However, their size and strength did not make them an ideal match for me, so my choice quickly went back to my first love, poodles.

I call border collies push-button dogs.  Push a button, and they’ll obey your command.  How they will obey it is up to your skills and dedication as a trainer.  In other words, they’re quick to pattern.  Still, they’re fun to watch with their speed and drive.

Why write about border collies?  We’ll be having one as a guest for the next few weeks.

One of my good friends, Krypto’s handler, has to undergo a surgery.  She’ll be off the grid for a few weeks, which means she won’t be up to taking care of her two dogs.  Result? Jasmine, Fannie, and I will be having a guest at our house.

Considering Fannie’s annoying behaviour of guarding me of strange dogs (well, not allowing them to greet me, I mean, I dare they???), Krypto and his handler thought it best to do a practice run a few weeks ago.  They slept overnight, and overall, it went well.  This weekend was the curtain call, and Krypto arrived on Saturday.  AM was nice enough to drive him over as I’ve caught a nasty bug.  I hope to keep an ongoing report for AM, so she can know what’s going on with one of her boyz.  Her other dog, Pongo, is staying at Muttz and a Klutz’ place.  I have no doubt that a picture diary will be done as well regular updates on her blog or her facebook account.

Day 1 status report:

All is well.  The piano keys had a “discussion” on who would have the spot at my feet during our Sunday afternoon nap.  Jasmine won, of course, but Krypto kept his nose out of it by snuggling up to me in my back.

All dogs had a walk on their own with me.  I don’t want to traumatize Krypto too much by leaving him on his own in a strange house.

This is the first day that I actually feel up to walking more than 10 minutes, so Krypto was the first one to go.  He sulked most of the way, because he had to wear his gentle leader.  Sorry Krypto, but wearing one during walks is the order of the day during your stay here.

ImageSit!

ImageDown!

Hmmm.  I wonder what I’ll post about tomorrow?

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Krypto, Visit. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The visit has arrived!

  1. Fannie’s legs are nearly as long as Krypto’s. Where do you find the time to walk a BC for an hour? Hope Krypto enjoys his visit.

Leave a Reply

