Fannie, you never cease to amaze me!

We have a new agility home this year.  We’re members of a local agility club, and we used our new “home field” for the first time today.  Mother Nature has been quite peculiar lately, and we’ve been having non-stop rain for days.  We did have a sun break for 1.5 days, but it’s raining again this evening.

Sigh.

The new field is located on a fellow member’s land.  This is the laneway.  Beautiful isn’t it?

We park the car, and walk a short distance following this path, which looks to be an old lane giving access to the fields.

PathWe’re finally here, are new agility home!

The field

Training session

I hadn’t really planned anything, apart from familiarizing Fannie on certain obstacles.  We had practiced weaving yesterday, and so that needn’t be repeated until tomorrow or Wednesday.  The teeter, Fannie’s personal Waterloo, was certainly on the to-do list.  I couldn’t believe it!  The minute I remove her leash, off she trots to the teeter, and completes it without batting an eyelash!!!  Who is this???  Can this really be my little min poodle, who needs familiarization at every new venue she goes to?  She even does one of those textbook teeters, by rushing to the end of the plank, and lets it drop with a bang!  Fannie, you never cease to amaze me.

Weaving

Yesterday’s session was great.  A friend of mine helped us by being a “distraction”.  She first stood close to the weaves, than waved a toy around, and finally, used a squeaker toy.  Fannie did very well, and ignored her 95% of the time.  Great work Fannie!  Now, we have to work on entries with different obstacles, and not just a jump.

Handling

I tried to complete the course which had been set out for last week’s class.  Mmmm.  I thought it felt odd, but I worked on threadles, 180s, and rear crosses, nothing fancy.  She had no problem doing them.  The oddness of the course may be explained by the fact that the grass had been cut earlier in the day, and some obstacles were missing.  Ok, that explains it.

Table

Just before leaving, I sent Fannie to the table.  What can I say?  Off she went again….

Table!

Yes, she got a super duper reward for that….

Here’s a closer pic…

Fannie on table

I grew up in the countryside on a dairy farm, but our road is very busy, the price to pay for being close to a highway.  It wasn’t always this way, but the urban sprawl of Ottawa has encouraged people to move nearby and drive to the city every day.   We’re still surrounded by dairy farms, but the road?  Sheesh!  People drive by at 100 km/h.

The agility field is on a quiet country road, where the traffic isn’t busy.  Needless to say, I appreciate it.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Fannie, table, Teeter, threadle, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fannie, you never cease to amaze me!

  1. Helen Stewart says:

    That looks like a really nice field, gald you got to join the club. It sounds like Fannie loves agility. What do you mean nothing fancy, threadles are pretty fancy stuff.

Leave a Reply

