Fun at the K9 Kup

What a great day!  I finally decided to enter Fannie in K9 Kup this year, and we were lucky enough to have found a spot.  I didn’t post anything about the first event, which was held during a deluge of rain.  This time, I promised myself to share everything about our day.

With all the rain we’ve had this Summer as well as a heat wave which broke all records last week; our training time has been quite limited.  Fannie is doing well, but I’m certain she could be doing better if I actually worked more with her.  However, life being what it is right now, our current lack of agility training is totally normal, and I’m not beating myself over it.

We were joined today by a good friend of ours, SH, and I do say we, because she is one of the two Cornwall humans that my dogs most adore.

Oops!

I was preening with pride when I went to bed last night.  I thought I had packed everything and all I had to do was get dressed the next morning.  Ahem….  I forgot to pack the shade canopy.  I had left it spread out to dry last month in my garage, and as you all know me, I’m very lazy.  Yes, I left with the shade tent without a canopy.  Good thing I had a hat and plenty of sunscreen.

Keltic, the handsome sheltie

Helen from Helen’s world is injured, and she asked me run her handsome sheltie, Keltic.  I’ve known Keltic since he was a puppy (see the post on our 2012 camping trip) and had the chance to run him at our last fun match.  Imagine my surprise when he agreed to run with me.  He’s also quite the snuggler, as he’s sure to find a way to wiggle closer and cuddle with you, even while waiting for our turn to run.  Helen was nice enough to post the videos, so please watch them, and giggle along me.

Fannie’s runs

Fannie was about 2-3 dogs after Keltic, and she was strangely very slow this weekend.  Was it too hot outside?  Was she jealous seeing me run another dog?  We’ll see next time we do agility in a similar environment, “sans Keltic”.  Good thing SH was with us, as she helped me by holding the dogs.  Thanks Sylvia!

Steeplechase

Ah….  I am so proud of my little mini poodle.  She completed all 12, yes 12, weaves.  She’s still hesitant about tunnels, but that’s easy to correct.  She tried to charm the ring crew and the judge.  Really, who can resist a cute min poodle?  Video.

Standard

Another happy moment, Fannie is confident on the dogwalk and the teeter.  Hurray!  Our rear crosses are nothing to write home about, so this will be added to our training schedule.  Video

Snooker

Ah…  Well, we were whistled out because of a handler error, but I’m very happy with Fannie’s performance.  I couldn’t remember how many red jumps we had completed.  You can see me looking around, and I’m actually saying out loud in French : “Sh**, how many reds have we completed?”.  The judge very nicely replied, “3”.  Needless to say that is a definite no-no in a real trial, as the judge can’t say a thing.   Swearing?  That can get me expelled from the trial.   Still, this is the thing about K9 Kup, it’s for fun.  🙂  Video

Training plan

  • Improve Fannie’s confidence with tunnels;
  • Increase her speed in weaves;
  • Have more “evil humans” during practices, so she gets used to the presence of ring crews;
  • Rear crosses.  Why not?
  • More handling.
About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Dogwalk, Fannie, Rear crosses, Uncategorized, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Fun at the K9 Kup

  1. I still think Fannie and Keltic were some of the best dogs I saw run, no zoomies (well not many) and usually paid attention to the handler. It was kind of fun to watch someone else run my dog, after watching him at 10″ I think he may be a Special.

Leave a Reply

