Agility Q!

Many things have happened since Michou’s passing, and I’ve been so busy, I’m a bit behind in my posts.  This one had already been written, so here it is,  a month later …  Still fun to post!

Fannie’s first Q EVER!

Jasmine kept me waiting three years before giving me a Q in agility.  In the meantime, I stopped trialing, found a new coach, and re-trained.  I appreciate each and every qualifying run that little dog does, and if she doesn’t Q, it’s mostly my fault.

With Fannie, everything is different.  Training her is so much easier, which has made it possible for me to homeschool  for a while.   Now that I have more experience, competitions don’t stress me out as much, and I can count of Fannie to follow my handling, minus a few ring crew visits.  No avoidance.  No zoomies.  Pure fun.

Hilltop Agility Trial

The goldenpoo CKC trial (Jointly offered by the The Ottawa Valley Golden Retriever Club and the Ottawa Valley Poodle Club) was being offered the same weekend as the Hilltop Agility Trial, and gasoline being the price it is, the money sign made it easy for me to choose which event to register in.  Note: I’m a member of both clubs, which is why there was a “choice” to be made…   Hilltop was held in Williamstown, a beautiful small town in Eastern Ontario known for offering “Canada’s Oldest Annual Fair” since 1812.  Fannie was entered in Starters Snooker, and two events of Starters Jumpers.

Starters Snooker

Ah well, what can I say?  Fannie had the choice of taking the ever obligatory first red jump or the tempting A-Frame not far behind.  Well, she took the A-Frame, of course.  Result?  Fannie is now a member of the snooker 0 point club.  Sigh.  I even have a video for prosperity!  Tee-hee!

Starters Jumpers

Our greatest challenge, visiting ring crews, was our downfall.  Fannie took one look at the young girl guides, and rushed over to kiss them.  Yup, we had off-courses.  Here is the video, you’ll understand what I mean.

Starters Jumpers 2

Ah!  Our glorious moment!  It may have been because of the warm weather, or Fannie was probably very tired after a long day, but we did a qualifying run.  She didn’t visit anyone, and just did her job.  Unfortunately, I didn’t ask anyone to film us, as almost everyone was busy, and I didn’t bother.

Relaxing before the actionRelaxing at the Hilltop Trial

Fannie's first Q being made officialFannie’s Q being made “official”.  Do NOT disturb official!

The official picture!

The official picture.  😀

Good moments:

-no visiting ring crews

-her speed!  Isn’t it great?

Things to work on:

-Weaves.  We’re obviously not practicing enough.

-Obstacle discrimination.

-It’s yer choice training.  We need it.

Jasmine’s new job

Since Michou’s passing, my mother is finding it difficult to cope with no furry friend in the house.  I won’t go in the details, but adopting a new dog wouldn’t be a wise decison right now.  Therefore, I’ve offered Jasmine’s company to them, and she spends short periods of time at their house.  At the wise age of 8, Jasmine is the perfect dog for them.  She’s visited and has stayed with them so often, that there is no adaptation period.  She snuggles naturally to my mum.  She asks to be picked up by my father.  My father brings her outside when he works in the yard.  She adores them, and they adore her.  On a more personal note, Fannie misses her, and so do I.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Confidence, Fannie, Jasmine, Qualifying Runs, Therapy Dog, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Agility Q!

  1. Starter Jumpers 1 was actually a very nice run. Good job! Wish Beckett would let me rear cross like that.

  2. Lisa says:

    Was it really 3 years with Jasmine? Oh my. You are sure one persevering person and all your perseverance paid off. Now, you are so well deserving of a much easier dog, i.e. Fannie! Glad you are having fun.

Leave a Reply

