Much, much more than just a fun match

A friend of mine contacted me at the beginning of the week, letting me know that there was a fun match in Orléans today.  I hadn’t planned on attending, but since I had to cancel last week’s fun match, I quickly went online and registered.

Fannie desperately needed some practice at a new venue.  She now completes 12 weave poles at the club field, and does it fast.  Unfortunately, she’s completely ignored them at our last trial and/or K9 Kup day.   I had to introduce her to a new environment, and show her how fun it can be to do agility in new and strange places.  This had to be done soon, since we’re attending a trial next weekend.  Yikes!

In order to attend the fun match, I had to do a “no show” to our club weekly lesson.  Oh dear!

The fun match had a start time of 1:30 pm….  My kind of schedule.  😉  As I was driving to Orléans, I was startled by the changes in the area.  I haven’t been in this section of Ottawa for at least a year, and new houses and condos have sprouted all over the place.  Well, it was announced this week that Canada has now reached a population 35 000 000.  I guess houses are needed for all these new people.  🙂

Starters Standard Run – 1st attempt

Well, it was as I expected.  I risked a rear cross just before the jump, and Fannie headed for one of her favorite obstacle, the dogwalk.  She even ignores the toy!!  Gasp!  She visits the videographer.  Double gasp!  The rest of the run goes well, apart from her affection for the dw.  Here is the video.

Starters Standard Run – 2nd attempt

Both of us are more comfortable.  We’re following the same plan, except I asked a friend of mine to act as a ring crew to distract Fannie.  I also started with a lead-out, copying another friend’s plan.  Both worked out great!  She still slides down the dw contact zone.  I’m not sure, but I think she might be enjoying this….

Something I’m not happy with is her fly-off from the teeter.  This is a first for her, so I’ll try to get that out of her system.

Oh, her weaves… Her weaves…. = Happy….  Happy Lyne…..

The rest?  A rear cross to the tunnel, and a good contact on the A-Frame.  I’ve been working on her contacts a bit more lately, because I thought she’s been showing the tiny bit of a beginning of a crappy contact method.  My goal is for her to have a two on, two off, and this worked well for this event.

Here is the video.

Her greatest moment?  The starters gambler

I never expected for it to go so well.  Both the mini gamble and the gamble included a dark tunnel.  Although we’ve been practicing doing dark tunnels lately, and rewarding them like crazy, I wasn’t sure how it would go.  I also planned a course with weaves, which is something I never do in trials.  Jasmine takes such a long time to do obstacle equipments, that weaves are out of the question, because they take so much time to do.

Well, Fannie is not Jasmine.

Even with a wrong entry, we had time to do the whole thing, and two mini gambles.  Add the main gamble to that, and we ended with a total of 70 points.  That’s not something we’ll be able to do very often…..  😀  Yes, I’m enjoying it…..

Another video.

Rubberized obstacles

Most clubs have rubberized obstacles now, and both of my dogs have been training on them for the past 2 years.  Notice how Fannie just sliiiiiiides down the contact equipment.  Hmmmm.  Rain or shine, I’m making sure to include an agility session this week before the trial.  I have no idea what this may have caused…  Not that I’m worried that much, but I have a feeling she’ll try to put on the breaks much sooner at our next agility session.

Dark evil tunnels.

No problem there.  End of story.  😀

Well, a very satisfactory day indeed.  I’m now looking forward to our next practice.

What about Jasmine?

Jasmine is still on sick leave.  She’s taking part in our practice sessions, as you’ll see in future posts, but I’m not subjecting her to stress just yet.  She can relax and enjoy herself as being a dog of leisure….  😉

Why is it much more than just a fun match?

It’s also an opportunity to gain confidence as a handler, and as a team.  You find out what works, and what doesn’t.  Most importantly, you get to play with your furry friend, in a mock-trial setting.  I don’t consider myself a great handler, but if there is one advice I can offer, is that you can never have too many fun matches. You are building a working relationship with your dog, and every second is meant to be fun.

Enjoy them.

Embrace them.

For you will look back at them with nostalgia and pride once your team’s agility career is done.

and your dog will show you his unconditional love, by doing his/her job.

Play agility.

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in A-Frame, Teeter, tunnel, Weaves. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Much, much more than just a fun match

  1. You guys had a beautiful day for a fun match. Fannie did just great. She might not have been called on a fly-off as the dog can jump off and as long as the teeter hits the ground before the dog does, it’s all right. I’m going to enter Keltic in the Nov Dream Fields trial.

  2. If a dog exits the teeter after placing one or more feet past the mid-line, and has all four feet on the ground before the plank touches the ground, a fly-off fault shall be incurred and the teeter will be considered performed.

  3. If you stop the video at 1:06, the teeter was on the ground and she is still on with her back feet. Best kind of fly-off to have but I know what you mean about wanting to correct that before it becomes a real fly-off.

  4. Lisa says:

    It was a very enjoyable afternoon and I’m so glad you could make it! When I read your blog I get reminded that she still is your “baby” agility dog but she just seems so solid and steady that for some reason I end up thinking she’s already had tons of experience.

    Lucy says a life of leisure is a lovely thing indeed 🙂

Leave a Reply

