3H Days (Hot, Hazy, and Humid)

One of the risks of running a dog in agility is Mother Nature’s wraths. She may decide to throw those hot, hazy, and humid days at important events .  I personally call them “The 3H Days”.  Despite our cold and freezing Winters, and depending on where you live yes, Canada does have them.   If you live in the Ottawa Valley, you know that you’ll have to survive through at least 2 weeks of them every Summer.  Not pretty, I know.  This year was no different, and the thermometer spiked up to 32 on the Saturday, which with the humidex felt something like 37.  On Sunday, it was 34, with a humidex of 42.  All I can say is the earlier your runs are scheduled, the better it is for your dogs…

August 14-15, 2015….

Fannie

This weekend was planned in order to allow both dogs to play agility. Saturday was reserved for Fannie, and we attended the CKC trial offered jointly by the Ottawa Valley Golden Retriever Club and the Ottawa Valley Poodle Club AKA Goldenpoo Trial. 😉  Her first run was novice standard, and here is the video.  To my great surprise, she hopped off the table (GASP!) but successfully completed the weaves in her first try!  Good Fannie!  I also experimented and tried a rear cross at the very end, which wasn’t a good idea. Still, my little Fannie dog qualified and obtained her Novice Title. Fannie also succeeded in running a qualifying PAD course, so heeeeeere come another title!  She is now an AGNS and an NPS dog! AGNS (Agility Novice Selected) and NPS (Novice Points and Distance Selected).   Ooooooh.   I’m getting goosebumps simply by writing this.  😉

Because of the 3H days factor, I scratched Fannie out of the other Novice event she was scheduled to do.  On a nice day, it would have been fun, but on a day like this, it’s not worth it.  Mesdemoiselles Fannie and Jasmine were bundled away in the air conditioned car and we put-putted away. May I add that I’ve never scratched a dog out of an event before.  Yes, it was *that* hot.

Oh, a stop at DQ was required to celebrate the titles. Mmmm, those chocolate milkshakes are delicious on 3H Days….

fannie rubansBy the way, I have no idea how those ribbons got in Jasmine’s face.  😉

Must be Fannie’s doing.

Jasmine

Friends sometimes say that I’m too hard on myself. Well, I finally prove them right. I’m on vacation this week, and working on updating Jasmine’s agility spreadsheet (yes, I keep a spreadsheet, so sue me) and I’ve been noticing several things. First, when Jasmine is “in the zone”, she’s “in the zone”.   Here is a example: October 2014 Masters Jumpers: she’s one of four dogs who only have a 5 point fault. Two dogs qualified, eight dogs were eliminated, yadayadayada out of 20 dogs. That’s good! Right? Lesson number 1, don’t be so hard on yourself and your dog. Agility life will be much simpler if your dog feels your confidence in him/her.

Jasmine was certainly in the zone last weekend. Yet again, we tried to get a qualifying run in starters snooker. We were at the Hilltop trial in beautiful Williamstown Ontario, which is technically, our home turf. I’m a member of the hosting club. Well, first of all, I arrived at the last minute…. again… I was lucky enough to have enough time to walk the course…. again…. My first thought was : “Good, no contact equipment except for the teeter. Jasmine tends to linger in the contact zones in competition, but she adores the teeter”. My second thought was…. “Wow! We can do this!”. I ran back to the car, got the white fluffy dog, and…. only used tug toys to get her “reved up”.  We ran, but I forgot that 7 is a 3 obstacle thingnig.  Of course I completed it in the opening, but I completely forgot it in the closing. Even so, we finished with a 51 point snooker…. 51 POINTS!!!!! That’s a record for us. YES!! I was jumping up in down in circles when I saw the Q on the score sheets. “Q”!!!!!! This was our Starters Games Title!!!!   I’ve been waiting for years!!! Here is the picture of my noble little dog! Please note that this beautiful girl is 10 years old…

Jasmine ruban

Since this was Jasmine’s day, I had also entered her in Masters jumpers. Poor little tyke…. She was probably feeling the heat by this time, or she was probably hurting somewhere,  or both, and she simply refused to run. She hopped over the first jump, and simply stopped at the second one. Ok Jasmine… I get the message…. One run on hot, hot days for you now.  At the end of the trial, I stayed a bit to help out with the loading. It would have been a good idea if I had remembered to take my meds that morning. Something must have wacked out in my system, because I suddenly saw the horizon tip on its side while I was resting. That’s it. The hot day and my blood pressure must have been fighting each other, and I simply packed up and left.

An the fun continues…

I’m just beginning my vacation, so we have another trial scheduled for Fannie next Saturday. This is getting fun!

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in A-Frame, Confidence, Humidity, Qualifying Runs, Rear crosses, Weaves and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 3H Days (Hot, Hazy, and Humid)

  1. Wow, three titles! You must be over the moon.

  2. Lisa says:

    You guys are doing so great!! Super happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

