Rally O – A “bracing” adventure…. ;-)

I finally got around taking a video of the fluffies doing “brace” in rally-o.  Basically, the dogs have to do the same stations, but they’re leashed together by a coupler…  We’ve worked on heeling before, but only upstairs in the living room.  This is the first time I’ve tried walking with them in the basement.  So far, so good.  Jasmine is a good heeler, but not the kind to be stuck to my side.  Fannie gets a bit closer, so I’ve decided to position her on the inside.

In the video, you’ll see that Fannie lags a bit in one of our turns, but this is the first time I’ve noticed it.  I’ll keep a close eye, and if this doesn’t happen all the time, she’ll keep her spot.

I’m not training for a specific trial in mind, but hoping to get a better focus from Fannie in agility.  Last year, her performance visibly improved when we worked at rally-o at the same time.  Of course, this could be  because I’m simply working more with her.  (Ahem) She completed her novice title, but still needs to work on the stations in that level before I can ever contemplate competing seriously in advance, which is why we’re working on the brace category.

Here’s the video.  I like where this is heading.  😀

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rally O – A “bracing” adventure…. ;-)

  1. Lisa says:

    They are too CUTE!!! Two little fluffies prancing around side by side, looking straight up at you. I love it! I’ve never tried brace rally but will enjoy it vicariously through you 🙂

Leave a Reply

