Williamstown Fair Demo 2016

Well, the Hilltop Agility Club annual demo at the Williamstown Fair is done! Many thanks to Joanne who accepted to run both dogs for me today. To make sure that they would follow her, I had cut up some chicken for both dogs as well as buy some timbits at Tim Horton’s. It worked!

Why didn’t I run my dogs?  A tendon injury has “grounded” me so to speak.  I’m not allowed to run, so I volunteered to narrate the whole event instead.  We had one demo in the morning at 11, and the second at 2.  The dogs were not allowed on the fairgrounds this year, as an incident occurred last year (not our dogs).  Instead, we were limited to the agility field.  To be quite honest, I’m a bit relieved with this new rule.

Jasmine’s Run

Jasmine looked for me at the very beginning of the run, and once she found me, seemed to think it was ok to continue. She did one of her super high jumps, and I “think” I may have heard the crowd laughing.

Fannie’s Run

Fannie? Siiiiiigh. Don’t you hate it when your dogs run better with someone else? I “think” she may have tried to kiss some little kids, and may have run beside a jump? I’m not sure. I do know that she aced her weave entry, and completed them. She also sat obediently at the very beginning of the run.  Joanne actually told me that Fannie is fun to run, as she requires almost no instructions…  That’s good..  Right?

To be quite honest, I’m not sure how it really went.  I hid away behind some spectators, who were very willing to accommodate,  and make sure the dogs wouldn’t find me.

Joanne, you are a wonder! Running three dogs with your Happy Feet, all with very different personalities.   Wow!

Waiting to begin

fluffies.jpg

I took both of them out of their crates before the beginning in order to give them a “crate break”.

agility and horses.jpg

You see the yellow cable surrounding the agility field?  That’s how close the trucks, trailers, and most importantly, the horses were to the dogs.  Fortunately, none of the them broke away to visit or even noticed them, except for a puppy.  😉

setting up.jpg

The club members are setting up the equipment.  They had removed the dogwalk at this point, but it originally was parallel to the club trailer.  Interesting tidbit, there was a horse chilling behind our trailer during a run, and when a dog suddenly appeared on the dogwalk, it raised its head in surprise!  You could actually hear his thoughts “Hey!  How did that piece of fluff get up there!?!”

IMG_7629.JPG

“Wave to the photographer!”.  Dan and Penni are setting up the jump heights. We were our own ring crew, and I called them the “agility elves” every time they rushed out in the fields to make changes.

Jo and Happy.jpg

We’re about 30 minutes away from the 2 pm session, and Joanne takes time for a meet and greet with Happy.  Needless to say, Happy is very popular everywhere she goes.

waiting....jpg

Still 25 minutes to go, but people have begun trickling in.  You can see Jane resting, probably having lunch.  Saturday, she helped man her workplace’s booth, as well as participate in the demo.  Busy lady!

IMG_7632.JPG

Demo is done, and we’re on our way back home.  Williamstown is a very old Loyalist community established in the 1780s on the Raisin River.  You find very interesting architecture, beautiful houses, and fortunately in many cases, the owners take care of them.  I’ve moved in the area five years ago, and keep telling myself to stop and take pictures of this covered bridge.  Fair day is the day!

pont.jpg

I have a feeling that this bridge is privately owned, and not even used to access the property.  Still, it’s beautiful.   Eastern Ontario has been suffering (yes suffering) an awful heat wave and drought for the whole month of July, but luckily, the themometre only went up to 30 degrees celsius today.  We had a wonderful breeze, but it was still hot in the Sun.

Now, the dogs are both napping.  They earned they supper today!

About The adventures of the piano keys

Hello there, A few years ago, I adopted a little white fluffy dog who I named Jasmine. Like any good intentioned dog owner, I registered for dog obedience classes. Little did I know how these lessons would go on to introducing me to the wonderful world of dog sports. Since then, Jasmine has participated in agility, flyball, and rally obedience events. We don’t expect to make any world team, but we love the training, competing, and most of, the chance of spending time together and having fun. In February 2011, I adopted a second dog, Fannie. This blog is a journal of our activities. Sit back, put your feet up, and I hope I can tease a smile out of you with our antics.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Williamstown Fair Demo 2016

  1. I liked doing demos. Glad the girls had a fun afternoon.

Leave a Reply

